
LEGAL NOTICE  
STATE OF NEW JERSEY 

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 
DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES 

 
Personal Care Assistant (PCA) Rates 

 
TAKE NOTICE the New Jersey Department of Human Services (DHS), Division 

of Medical Assistance and Health Services (DMAHS) intends to seek approval from the 

United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services (CMS), for an amendment to the New Jersey Medicaid (Title 

XIX) State Plan in order to in order to implement the State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2020 

Appropriations Act.   

Notwithstanding the provisions of any law or regulation to the contrary, DHS 

intends to seek an amendment to decrease the hourly rate for fee-for-service (FFS) 

personal care assistant (PCA) services from $19.00 per hour to $18.00 per hour. The 

fee schedule will be published on the Department’s fiscal agent’s website at 

https://www.njmmis.com under “rate and code information” when available. 

The estimated total savings for SFY 2020 and SFY 2021 are projected to be 

$19,000 ($9,500 State share) and $19,000 ($9,500 State Share) respectively.  

This Notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of Federal statutes and 

regulations, specifically 42 CFR 447.205, and 42 U.S.C. 1396a(a)(13).  A copy of this 

Notice is available for public review at the Medical Assistance Customer Centers, 

County Welfare Agencies, and the Department’s website at: 

http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html.  

Comments or inquiries must be submitted in writing within 30 days of the date of this 
notice to:        

      Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services 
Office of Legal & Regulatory Affairs 

Attention: Margaret Rose 
P.O. Box 712, Mail Code #26 

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0712 
Fax: 609-588-7343 

E-mail: Margaret.Rose@dhs.state.nj.us 
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